Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
French Databases and Academic Resources
Gallica is the digital library for the Bibliotheque Nationale de France. Two million documents including books, journals. images and sound recordings.
Cross searches a range of resources including databases, open access repositories and the French National Archives.
Les Classiques des Sciences Sociales
Classical texts by French thinkers in social sciences. All texts on the site are open access, so available for free without a log-in.
Persée, le portail de revues scientifiques en sciences humaines et sociales, is a free website for scientific journals in social and human sciences written in French.
OpenEdition Journals (Formerly Revues.org) is a French web portal with nearly 400 journals in the field of social sciences and humanities. Many of these journals are available for free.
Society for Francophone Postcolonial Studies
The Society for Francophone Postcolonial Studies is an international organisation which exists in order to promote, facilitate and otherwise support the work of all scholars and researchers working in the area of postcolonial and transnational studies on material relating to the French-speaking world.
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. Filter search by place or language.
The Érudit platform is run by a Canadian University consortium, and provides access to several types of French language documents in the humanities and social sciences. Some are freely available, some are subscription.
Media, Culture, and Politics
Website of the French National Assembly. History, heritage and seaechable legal texts/documents.
Culture.fr- Le Portail de la Culture
Website on all aspects of French culture.
Culturethèque is an online platform offering French cultural content such as e-books, films, podcasts, learning resources and blogs.
Official website of the EU. Topics include policy, economy, law and financial reports.
EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today.
The National Institute of Statistics and Economic Studies collects, analyses and disseminates information on the French economy and society.
Journal de Genève - archives
The digitized archives of a French-language Swiss daily newspaper: the Journal de Genève. The collection comprises 172 years of publication (1826-1998), 550,000 pages, 2 million articles.
Portail de gouvernement-France
Portal to information relating to French Government and its departments.
Présidence de la république
Homepage for the President of the French Republic.
Routledge Translation Studies Portal
This portal offers a wide range of online resources and teaching materials, links to key organisations and samples from our ground-breaking titles in translation and interpreting studies.
The WordReference Dictionary is a living, growing dictionary specially adapted to the online environment. It also contains a forum full of questions other people have asked.