Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
German databases and academic resources
Global list of databases for Germanic studies, free and subscription based.
Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek
New site with the aim of offering unrestricted access to Germany’s cultural and scientific heritage, including millions of books, archived items, images, sculptures, music, films and scores, from all over Germany.
A database that provides links to thousands of German electronic journals, many of which are open access so are accessible to everyone.
Germanistik im Netz
Virtuelle Fachbibliothek Germanistik - virtual library of German studies. This site searches catalogues from libraries across Germany, as well as selected German-language databases.
Glossen is a free peer reviewed international bi-lingual scholarly journal on literature, film, and art in the German speaking countries after 1945. It contains scholarly articles, original literary texts in German or in English translation, images, audio, and video representations. The journal appears two to three times a year.
Site offering thousands of free German e-books
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. Filter search by place or language.
Prof Ludger Hoffmann Useful Links
Link list compiled by Prof Ludger Hoffmann, professor for German Linguistics and German as a Second Language at Dortmund University. He provides useful links to German and international associations in linguistics, to online resources when learning German and other topics such as animal communication, linguistic corpora, language acquisition.
Routledge Translation Studies Portal
This portal offers a wide range of online resources and teaching materials, links to key organisations and samples from our ground-breaking titles in translation and interpreting studies.
Woerterbuch von Jacob und Wilhelm Grimm
Online version of the German dictionary compiled by Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm. This site is published and maintained by the University of Trier.
The WordReference Dictionary is a living, growing dictionary specially adapted to the online environment. It also contains a forum full of questions other people have asked.
Media, culture and politics
Austrian cultural information site
Deutsche Kultur International
Portal in English and mostly German about aspects of German culture, providing also information about conferences, documentation centres and libraries.
Deutsche Welle News
German broadcaster's news site
Official website of the EU. Topics include policy, economy, law and financial reports.
EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today.
German Government online
The official website of the German federal government.
The Goethe-Institut is the Federal Republic of Germany’s cultural institution operational worldwide, fostering knowledge about Germany by providing information on its culture, society and politics.
Institut der Deutschen Wirtschaft Köln
The Cologne Institute for Economic Research is a private economic research institute in Germany.
Watch the latest German TV news