LibGuides: Marketing: Datasets and Statistics

Data v Statistics

Data vs statistics

Data are raw ingredients from which statistics are created. Statistics are useful when you just need a few numbers to support an argument, for example, degree holders earned an average of £12,000 a year more than non-graduates over the past decade - ONS. Statistics are usually presented in tables and charts. Statistical analysis can be performed on raw data to show relationships among the variables collected.

University Databases for statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. Access is available to Statistics, Reports, Market Insights and Company Insights. Access to Consumer Insights and eCommerce is not available.

Statista is more than just statistics. You can also find

eCommerce Insights to help begin your search in to market analyses, benchmarking and lead generation in the eCommerce sector.
Consumer Insights allow analyses of consumer behavior and media usage in the on- and offline world based on the data of 1,700,000 consumers from 56 countries and territories.
Market Insights cover a wide range of industries, from consumer goods to technology and mobility. Providing market sizes, forecasts, and other indicators for up to 152 countries and territories..

Passport This link opens in a new window You will need to register the first time you access the site.Euromonitor's Passport Global Market Information Database has market intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumer data for 350 markets in over 200 countries. Market research analysis reports provide full text details of major market profiles and articles from retail, consumer, industrial and service sectors. Company data has basic company financial, product and market share information and Sources provides information on data sources used by Euromonitor.

[formerly Refinitiv EIKON] provides access to company financial data and economic indicators as well as news, analytics and productivity tools. The database incorporates Datastream and Eikon. Datastream’s Excel Add-in (not available for Mac users) allows you to create datasheets with different variables, both static and time series, edit and analyse the results or upload on to analytics software. LSEG Workspace provides current and historical coverage of data for international companies dating back to the 1960s. It includes company accounts and ratios, equity and capital market data, interest and exchange rate data, plus economic and industrial statistics.

Please note the licence restricts each student user to a limit of 10m data points per month in Datastream downloads.

Also in the Deals Screener and Deals Market Overview the licence restricts each student user to 1000 deals per 24 hour period in exporting values or formulas to Excel. There is a maximum download of 200 per each event as formulas or values.

Self registration for LSEG Workspace

Please use your Aston University email address to apply

Please select the Datastream Add On

LSEG Workspace Quick Student Guide

Bloomberg features company financials, market data spanning more than 20 years, charts, statistics, a communications platform and current news reports.

For example, if you are focusing on an industry sector, once you have chosen an industry to view, use the Data Library to find STATISTICS:

The Macro option provides economic data that drive the industry , as well as industry specific statistical information
Cost Analysis provides cost structures by the top companies
Market Share provides ranked company revenues

The MONITOR section includes anaysis on the markets, stock prices as well News/Research which will lists Investment reports and News by INDUSTRY

Access Bloomberg

Key Resources for UK Statistics

Access and support for a range of economic and social data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata. business microdata qualitative studies and census data. Registration required.

Provides access to and support for the resources of the population censuses from 1971 to 2011. Registration required.

Gateway to statistics on Britain's economy, population and society at national and local level.

Learned and professional society for the science and application of statistics, promoting their use for public benefit.

Leading UK research company specialising in researching advertising, loyalty (customer and employee relationship management); marketing, mediaCT (media and technology), social & political research and reputation research.

Key Resources for International Statistics

Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Statistics for the European Union.

Organization of 188 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.

The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OCED) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.

Quandl is an free online repository of over 7 million datasets. You’ll find time-series data on aspects associated with economics, finance, demography, society, markets, energy, health and education.