Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use journals?
Journal articles are usually:
- first hand reports of original research, making them primary source material
- the first place where new research is published, so they are at the cutting edge of your subject
- peer-reviewed, meaning that the articles have been critically evaluated by experts in the field before publication.
Searching for journal articles on a legal topic?
To find articles published in law journals it is recommended that you use the individual law databases.
As part of your law degree you will also be studying aspects of law in the commercial world. Use the followng databases to search within business journals. Follow the button within each journal article record to find out whether the full text is available to you as a member of Aston University.
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computing, and more. Use the Business Searching Interface to also browse company, industry and country profiles.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete is the upgraded version of Business Source Premier. If you're a student wanting business information, we recommend using the Enhanced Business Searching Interface (BSI), EBSCO's highly focused user interface created especially for business researchers. It provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry market trends or potential, and market research.
Business Source Complete provides full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
JSTOR Business Collection This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering scientific, medical, technical and social science subjects.
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Medline.
How to find a journal article from a reference
The citation for a journal article in a footnote usually looks something like this:
Author firstname and surname, | ‘title’ | (year) | volume | journal name / abbreviation | first page of the article
Andrezj Grabowski, 'The Missing Link in the Hart-Dworkin Debate' (2016) 36 3 OJLS 476
Use the preferred abbreviation for the journal title from the Cardiff Index of Legal Abbreviations
There are two main ways to find the full text of a journal article from a reference:
- Type the article title into the Library SmartSearch (or your database of choice), and use to access full text
- Search for the journal title in the A-Z list of journals (link below)
Article not available at Aston University?
If the journal article you require is not available through Aston's subscriptions, you may be able to obtain it through open access means:
You may also be elibible to apply for an Inter Library Loan (ILL):
All students can have 5 Inter-library Loan requests a year for free. Find out how you request an Inter Library Loan for material not held in the Library which is required for your research or dissertation.
Convert documents into a format that you need with SensusAccess
SensusAccess is provided by Aston University to enable students and staff to convert documents into a wide range of alternative media.
It is an automated document conversion service that will help enable you to convert your readings, slides and lecture notes into formats that work best for you. For example you could convert an image only PDF or JPEG file to a word document, MP3 file or e-book.
SensusAccess is great for supporting different learning styles, and for providing help when reading text in a foreign language.
SensusAccess is entirely automated and the documents you submit to the service are automatically deleted once they have been converted. You do not need to worry about keeping your privacy as SensusAccess does not store personal information.
More information on the service can be found on our services for users with additional needs webpage https://www.aston.ac.uk/library/services/additional-needs
Recent journal articles published in your subject area
The following journal articles have been published recently in this subject area. If you would like to be alerted to new journal articles in your specific area of interest, see the Keeping Up To Date tab.