It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Electrical and Electronic Engineering: Journal Articles
You will be able to find a limited number of journal articles on a topic by using the Library SmartSearch, and this may be most appropriate for you if you need to obtain a few full-text journal articles on a particular subject.
You can use the following bibliographic databases to carry out a comprehensive search for journal articles in your subject area. Use the button within each journal article record to find out whether the full text is available to you as a member of Aston University.
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowScopus is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering scientific, medical, technical and social science subjects.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowWeb of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Medline.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowScienceDirect contains full text journal articles and bibliographic information in science, technology and medicine.
Lecture Notes in Computer ScienceThis link opens in a new windowThe series Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS), including its subseries Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) and Lecture Notes in Bioinformatics (LNBI), has established itself as a medium for the publication of new developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching - quickly, informally, and at a high level.
ACM Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe ACM Digital Library covers all journals, magazines and conference proceedings from the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM). The collection includes citations and full text sources. The date ranges of publications vary, but some journals are available back to the 1950s and 1960s.
Optics InfoBase (OSA)This link opens in a new windowThe Optics InfoBase is the Optical Society of America's online repository of both current and past volumes of all its journals.
How to find a journal article from a reference
The reference for a journal article usually looks something like this:
Clough, H., & Closier, A. (2018). Walking the talk: Using digital media to develop distance learners’ digital citizenship at the Open University (UK). Reference Librarian, Vol 59 (3), pp 129-133.
There are two main ways to find the full text of a journal article from a reference:
Type the article title into the Library SmartSearch (or your database of choice), and use to access full text
Search for the journal title in the A-Z list of journals (link below)
If the item you would like to read is not available via Aston University Library, you can request the item from another Library. This is called Inter-library Loan. This service is available to all University students and staff.
How to improve your keyword searches for journal articles
Keyword searching is generally what you use when you are first beginning a search. Try to break down your topic or research question into the overall main ideas; these main ideas become simple keywords which you may use to search a Library database.
It's useful to keep a keyword list when you are researching a topic. This will help you remember the words you have already tried searching, the combinations you have used, and any new words you noticed in search results that you want to try in your searches later.
Watch this short video to help you improve your search skills:
E&T is the IET's monthly magazine for professional engineers
Notes on terminology
Journals are sometimes also referred to as periodicals or serials.
Some databases refer to peer-reviewed journals as scholarly journals or academic journals.
Some journals, eg. trade journals and industry magazines, are not always peer-reviewed.
Review articles in journals are summaries of the literature, ie. a secondary source.