Skip to main content

Law: Welcome

This is your LibGuide

Your essential guide to finding the information and sources you won't find in the Library SmartSearch or Google.

Explore using the tabs and drop down menus above.

Your Legal Databases

    HeinOnline logo William S. Hein & Co. provide the largest collection of image (.pdf) based collection of law and law-related materials, including their Law Journal Library containing over 1,2000 law journals. HeinOnline also provides access to the English Reports, the reprinted collection of the Nominate Reports, dating from 1220-1867.

Lawtel UK provides over 40,000 case reports in a 25 year archive.  Publishes 100's of unreported decisions exclusively the day after judgement.  Use Lawtel to find full text case information on very recent cases.  To access please look for Aston University in the drop down menu and then log in with your University username and password.

  

Key online legal research database for UK caselaw, legislation, commentary & some journal articles materials.The only place to find sources such as Halsbury's Laws of England, ICLR Law Reports, Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents, All England Law Reports, Atkin's Court Forms and more.

Westlaw UK gives you access to  case law, legislation, news, legal journals, commentary, current awareness alerts and EU legal materials. Westlaw UK is the only service that consolidates all primary and secondary legislation for the UK, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. We also display different jurisdictional versions of UK law separately so that you can clearly see what applies where
Practical Law is an online legal know-how service which provides practice area overviews, practice notes, standard documents and current awareness services for lawyers. 

If you would like to find out more about the databases and how to use them, please view the Legal Databases tab for help guides and screen tutorials

Parliament News

Loading

Convert documents into a format that you need with SensusAccess

SensusAccess is provided by Aston University to enable students and staff to convert documents into a wide range of alternative media.

It is an automated document conversion service that will help enable you to convert your readings, slides and lecture notes into formats that work best for you. For example you could convert an image only PDF or JPEG file to a word document, MP3 file or e-book.

SensusAccess is great for supporting different learning styles, and for providing help when reading text in a foreign language.

SensusAccess is entirely automated and the documents you submit to the service are automatically deleted once they have been converted. You do not need to worry about keeping your privacy as SensusAccess does not store personal information.

http://www.aston.ac.uk/library/sensusaccess/

Your Information Specialist

Nicola Dennis's picture
Nicola Dennis
Contact:
Aston University Library
1st Floor, Library Office

+44 (0)121 204 4497
Website Skype Contact: nicola.dennis100

Assistant Information Specialist

Sarah Akhtaruzzaman's picture
Sarah Akhtaruzzaman
Contact:
Aston University Library
1st Floor, Library Office
+44 (0)121 204 4918

What can your LibGuide do for you?

Aston Research Explorer

Aston Research Explorer is Aston's own institutional repository - you can find a range of research output from this university, including journal articles, reports and theses.

Latest additions to Aston Research Explorer relevant to Aston Business School:

Loading