LibGuides: Mechanical Engineering and Product Design: Specialist resources

Learning on screen (BoB)

BoB: Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window BoB is an off-air recording and media archive service. This TV scheduling service allows you to record TV and radio programmes that are scheduled to be broadcast over the next seven days as well as retrieving programmes from the last seven days from a selected list of recorded channels.*Not available in the EU

Online image sources

British Library Images Online Images Online is the Picture library of the British Library, the national library of the United Kingdom. Bringing together expert knowledge of British Library curators and professional picture researchers we can provide research and advice to assist your picture buying needs.
Creative Commons images Please note that search.creativecommons.org is not a search engine, but rather offers convenient access to search services provided by other independent organizations. CC has no control over the results that are returned. Do not assume that the results displayed in this search portal are under a CC license. You should always verify that the work is actually under a CC license by following the link. Since there is no registration to use a CC license, CC has no way to determine what has and hasn't been placed under the terms of a CC license. If you are in doubt you should contact the copyright holder directly, or try to contact the site where you found the content.
Google Arts and Culture Explore museum and art collections from around the world.
LIFE photo archive LIFE photo archive hosted by Google. Most images available for personal non-commercial use only.
Pexels Pexels provides high quality and completely free stock photos licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license. All photos are nicely tagged, searchable and also easy to discover through our discover pages.
Pinterest
Pixabay Pixabay is a vibrant community of creatives, sharing copyright free images and videos. All contents are released under Creative Commons CC0, which makes them safe to use without asking for permission or giving credit to the artist - even for commercial purposes.
TinEye Labs TinEye extracted the colors from 20 million Creative Commons images on Flickr to make the images searchable by color. TinEye Alerts tracks where your images appear online.
Unsplash Beautiful, free photos. Gifted by the world’s most generous community of photographers. Half a million stock photographs published under a CC0 licence.
Wellcome Collection Find thousands of Creative Commons licensed images from historical library materials and museum objects to contemporary digital photographs.

Please be aware of the copyright implications. The sites above will provide you with a wide range of images but they may not all be copyright-cleared for educational use.

WGSN

Leading online trend-analysis and research service providing creative and business intelligence for the apparel, style, design and retail industries.

Mechanical Engineering and Product Design: Specialist resources

Learning on screen (BoB)

Online image sources

WGSN

Design News