LibGuides: History: Local history resources

Local archives

Art & Design Archives, BCU
There are approximately 500,000 items held at Birmingham City University Arts, Design and Media archive, spanning thirty collections covering art and design, photography, education, music, media, jewellery, architecture and fashion. They range in size from less than fifty items to over 40,000 and contain paper documents and books as well as artworks, designs, posters, photographs and slides.
Birmingham Archdiocesan Archives
We hold the episcopal and administrative records of the Midland District (1688-1840), the Central District (1840-1850), the Diocese of Birmingham (1850-1911), and the Archdiocese of Birmingham (1911–present). We are the repository for all the parishes in the Archdiocese, which comprises the ancient counties of Staffordshire, Warwickshire, Worcestershire and Oxfordshire. Other collections include the archives of St Mary’s College, Oscott, Sedgley Park School and Cotton College, and Besford Court School.
Birmingham Archives and Collections
Birmingham Archives and Collections collects and preserves both original and printed records of historical significance relating to the City of Birmingham, its people, businesses, institutions and societies.
Cadbury Special Research Library
The collections consist of over 200,000 rare books dating from 1471 and more than four million manuscript items. They welcome all visitors, whether staff or students of the University of Birmingham, or members of the public.
Connecting histories
Britain today is commonly portrayed as a multicultural nation. However, the diverse historical experiences which constitute the story of this ‘new’ Britain are less well known. The history of the West Midlands in the 20th century is central to this story but the stories that make up this history remain largely hidden in archive collections. Connecting Histories aims to release the potential of these collections so that connections can be made between the past and the present and thereby encourage debate about our shared identities, our common sense of belonging and our multiple heritages.
Dudley Archives and Local History Service
Dudley Archives and Local History Service collects, preserves and makes available archive and local studies material relating to the Dudley borough to help the community understand the past, live the present and shape the future.
Guides to sources- The Library of Birmingham
On this page you will find guides to the sources we hold here in Birmingham Archives & Heritage. We will be updating these and adding new source guides as we release more catalogues, so watch this space.
Modern Record Centre
The Modern Records Centre, founded in October 1973, is the main British repository for national archives of trade unions and employers' organisations, and also has strong collections relating to pressure groups, fringe political parties and transport.
Sandwell Community History and Archives
Walsall local history centre
Our archive collections contain original records from the middle ages to the 21st century. These include the records of Walsall Corporation and Walsall Council and its predecessors, churches, schools, businesses, societies, individuals and organisations.
Warwickshire County Records Office
Wolverhampton City Archives
Documents available include books, maps, plans; over 30,000 photographs; records of local churches, schools and other institutions; records of the city council and its predecessors; and records of local industries, clubs and societies.

Birmingham public libraries

We would recommend that history students join Birmingham City Council libraries. Not only will you have access to the iconic Library of Birmingham building and local libraries, there are also a number of databases that would be of interest to history students such as; British Library Newspapers, Infotrac Newstand, Midlands Historical Data, Oxford Dictionary of Historical Biography and The Times Digital Archive 1785-1985. Some of these databases may be available online whilst others may only be accessible within Birmingham public libraries. For a full list of resources and links on becoming a member then visit their site here.