LibGuides: Human Resource Management: Market Reports

Industry Report Databases

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete is the upgraded version of Business Source Premier. If you're a student wanting business information, we recommend using the Enhanced Business Searching Interface (BSI), EBSCO's highly focused user interface created especially for business researchers. It provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry market trends or potential, and market research.Business Source Complete provides full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

Business Source Complete includes market reports and industry analysis from the following providers

Acquisdata
Barnes Reports
IHs Markit
Marketline

There are two ways to search for market reports

1. You can use the Browse feature on the right hand side of the screen and choose Market Reports. Then search or browse the list.

2. You can type in your industry in to the search box and scroll down the screen to limit the search by Publication Type. I recommend choosing Industry Profile and Market Report

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window IBISWorld is an industry report database covering 432 UK industries. Each report provides performance data and analysis on the market; supply chain; forecasts; risk scores; operating strengths and weaknesses; analysis of external drivers; major player market strategies; and industry profit and costs benchmarks. In addition to assessments, you can research industries for placements, future careers and interview preparation.
The first time you access the database you will be asked to register. Please complete the short form and then you will be able to continue with your search.

IBISworld Industry Reports are comprehensive yet easy to digest reports on hundreds of UK and Irish industries. Each report consists of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and historical performance, major industry participants and more. You can download a full list of report titles.

There are also

Risk Rating Reports
Business Environment Profiles
iExpert Summaries

IBISWorld is excellent for pulling together information based around Porter's Five Forces

Passport This link opens in a new window You will need to register the first time you access the site.Euromonitor's Passport Global Market Information Database has market intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumer data for 350 markets in over 200 countries. Market research analysis reports provide full text details of major market profiles and articles from retail, consumer, industrial and service sectors. Company data has basic company financial, product and market share information and Sources provides information on data sources used by Euromonitor.

Passport is is a global market research database providing insight on industries, economies and consumers worldwide, helping you to analyse market context and identify future trends impacting businesses globally.

Use Passport when you are looking for:

Market shares by brand for specific consumer products
Demographics at the country level
Various governmental data, including levels of government spending on things like defense, corruption levels, infrastructure data, etc.
Economic and resource data.
Consumer lifestyle data, such as how frequently people shop, eat, drink out, etc.
Company profiles, particularly for large and/or international firms
and so much more

Passport User Guide

Proquest This link opens in a new window The Proquest platform hosts the following databases: ABI/INFORM Complete, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, Accounting & Tax, Banking Information Source, British Periodicals, ebrary, Periodicals Archive Online, ProQuest Asian Business & Reference, ProQuest Entrepreneurship, PsycARTICLES.

Proquest provide access to market reports from the following publishers

Business Monitor International (BMI) Reports
First Research
Just-Series Market Research Reports

Search for Document Types "Industry Report", "Market Report" and "Market Research" in the Advanced Search option.

Human Resource Management: Market Reports

Finding industry reports

Industry Report Databases