Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education Team: Taught Programmes: Journal Articles

Searching for journal articles on a topic?

You will be able to find a limited number of journal articles on a topic by using the Library SmartSearch, and this may be most appropriate for you if you need to obtain a few full-text journal articles on a particular subject.

You can use the bibliographic databases listed below to carry out a comprehensive search for journal articles in your subject area.  Follow the Find it @ Aston button within each journal article record to find out whether the full text is available to you as a member of Aston University.

Databases containing research papers on learning and teaching

ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.

How do I download full text for the article that I want?
If you see "Download Full Text" in the grey box to right after you search, then ERIC has permission for you to download the article for free. To only see these articles, make sure the "Full text available on ERIC" box is checked when you search.
 
If you can not view the full text you can order the item via the Aston University Library Inter-library Loan Service.
 
What journals are indexed in ERIC?
The list of currently approved journals can be found at: http://eric.ed.gov/?journals and the approved list of non-journal sources can be found at http://eric.ed.gov/?nonjournals

 

 

 

LearnTechLib is your source for peer-reviewed and published articles and papers on the latest research and developments related to Educational Technology and E-Learning.

Research into Higher Education Abstracts

Research into Higher Education Abstracts Online is a hugely valuable resource for anyone interested in research into higher education. The online database is easily accessible and the search options allow you to search by category, which is immensely helpful when investigating a particular topic area. It can get you to relevant articles much quicker that other more generic database searches. It also covers a huge range of international journals and therefore alerts you to research that has been published in journals you might not routinely access.

Select to go to the Scopus main search page

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

You can review the journal titles covered in Scopus via this web page.

Image result for socindex

SocINDEX indexes over 2,000 journal titles with nearly 350 available with full text.  SocINDEX is currently hosted through EBSCOhost Research Databases.  There are around 185 journal titles covering Education and a full title list can be obtained via the EBSCO platform.

 

Image result for web of science

Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index and Medline.  You can view a list of Education journals covered by the database. 

Article not available at Aston University?

If you find the details of a journal article that is not available at Aston you may be able to obtain it through 'open access' means:

  • Google Scholar is one of the most common ways of finding such articles. 
  • Another useful source is the academic search engine BASE, which cross-searches institutional repositories. 

As an alternative, you can order an article as an Inter-library loan.  

How to improve your keyword searches for journal articles

When searching for journal articles by keyword, to increase the number of results you get and to make those results more relevant to your topic you can obtain lots of useful advice by listening to the podcasts below. 

Many of the training seminars run by the Information Specialists team also explore searching by keyword - see your own course of study for details regarding attendance at one of these.

JSTOR 'Register and Read'

JSTOR

The library subscribes to a number of journals on the database JSTOR, which you can access through the link above. However, JSTOR also offer an additional service that may be useful to you, called 'Register and Read'. Create a personal account here, then access a large number of journal articles that are not available through the library's subscriptions.

  1. Do an advanced search and untick 'Include only content I can access'. You can now search through all articles available on JSTOR, including ones that the library does not have a subscription to.
  2. Search your topic, and select an article that you would like to read from your search results. If the library has not paid for access to this article, there may be an option to click 'Read Online Free' above the article preview. Click on this.
  3. You can then add the article to your “reading shelf” to read the full text. You can save up to 3 articles on your shelf at a given time. After 14 days, you can remove articles and replace them with new ones.

Recent journal articles published in Learning and Teaching

The following journal articles have been published recently in this subject area.  If you would like to be alerted to journal articles in your specific area of interest as they are published, see the Keeping Up To Date tab.

Loading ...