LibGuides: Politics & International Relations: Legal Databases

Legal Research Databases

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
William S. Hein & Co. are providing the largest collection of image (.pdf) based collection of law and law-related materials, including their Law Journal Library containing over 1,2000 law journals. HeinOnline also provides access to the English Reports, the reprinted collection of the Nominate Reports, dating from 1220-1867.

Training

The tutorial below is a 1 hour long webinar. There is a pdf User's Guide available in the Help drop-down menu.

Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Key online legal research database for UK caselaw, legislation,commentary & some journal articles materials. Use Lexis for legislation, cases & commentary ie Halsburys Laws.

How to use LexisLibrary flyer
A quick guide to LexisLibrary

Full User LexisLibrary Guide

Training and Certification

Lexis Library Training Tutorials - A series of online training videos is available on the Lexis Library You Tube channel. Alternatively, login to Lexis Library and click on 'Help' and 'Tutorials'.

Lexis Library Research Certification - Two online tests are available: Basic and Advanced. Each test comprises 15 questions. Successful completion results in the award of an electronic certificate.

*NEW* Lexis Library PodCast. Interested sign up below

Westlaw This link opens in a new window WestLaw UK provides full text access to UK, EU and International case law, legislation and legal journals. Westlaw especially good for journal articles. If Westlaw doesn't have cases / commentary you want check Lexis Library.

Training and Certification

Westlaw UK Training - A series of online training videos and interactive lessons are available on the 'Westlaw UK Training' website.

Westlaw UK Certification - Two online tests are available: Basic and Advanced. Complete the online training modules and take the online test. Each test comprises 10 questions. Successful completion results in the award of an electronic certificate.

Lawtel (now available on Westlaw platform) This link opens in a new window **You will need to register the first time you log in** Lawtel is now integrated in to the Westlaw Edge platform. After logging in to Westlaw, scroll down to the More Resources section and you will see a link to Lawtel in the list. Lawtel UK’s Case Law Service includes over 40,000 case reports in a 25 year archive. Publishes hundreds of unreported decisions, online exclusively the day after judgement is given. Use Lawtel for sourcing full text of up-to-date cases.

Training

Lawtel Lessons - A series of online training sessions via WebEx. Find the current list and book onto training session. Login to Lawtel, click on 'Help' and 'Lawtel' Lessons.

Practical Law This link opens in a new window
Practical Law is an online legal know-how service which provides practice area overviews, practice notes, standard documents and current awareness services for lawyers.

Please view a full list of tutorials on the Practical Law training website

A full list of user guides are available on the Practical Law website

A-Z list of databases

If you are looking for a particular database or resource, access a full A-Z list of all subscribed resources below.

A-Z list of databases
Links to all our subscribed databases, plus information on coverage and details of how to log in.

Westlaw mobile app

Westlaw UK's Mobile Web App is now live and available for you to use.

The Mobile app gives you instant access to cases, legislation, journals, current awareness and EU content from your mobile device.

Features

Instant mobile access, anywhere, anytime
Mobile user-friendly
Search for cases, legislation, journals, current awareness and EU content
Filter post-search by content set to narrow down the results list
Seamless linking to related resources
Download, email and save to your folders, synced with your desktop version
View documents in full screen

LexisLibrary mobile app

LexisNexis apps for the iphone are now live and available for download from the Apple Store.

They are called ‘On the Case’ and ‘Legal Terms’.

In order to use the apps, users will need to register for an ID and password. They can do this either via the ‘On the Case’ app itself or via a registration website http://lexislibrarymobileapps.co.uk/
The same ID and password works for both apps and can be stored on the phone so you only have to remember it once.

Here is a little bit of info about each app:

Legal Terms: Legal Terms provides LexisLibrary subscribers with on-the-go access to key points of law. Covering a wide range of legal topics, customers can find the meaning of a legal term, the legislation where that term was defined and read the key cases about that definition. It also provides links to related terms.

On the Case: On the Case provides LexisLibrary subscribers on-the-go access to a wide range of case law. On the Case allows customers to search for cases by name, citation or key word, displaying results along with key words and a summary. To guide customers towards good law, each case is given a status signal indicating its treatment by the courts