From the First Year to the Final Year of your degree, your module lecturers will want to see that you have talked about research in journal articles in your assessments.
Journal articles are usually:
You can browse all the journal titles held at Aston University Library via the Journals button on the library homepage or the link below.
You will be able to find a limited number of journal articles on a topic by using the Library Search, and this may be most appropriate for you if you need to obtain a few full-text journal articles on a particular subject.
You can use the following bibliographic databases to carry out a comprehensive search for journal articles in your subject area. Follow the button within each journal article record to find out whether the full text is available to you as a member of Aston University.
Keyword searching is generally what you use when you are first beginning a search. Try to break down your topic or research question into the overall main ideas; these main ideas become simple keywords which you may use to search a Library database.
It's useful to keep a when you are researching a topic. This will help you remember the words you have already tried searching, the combinations you have used, and any new words you noticed in search results that you want to try in your searches later.
Resources to highlight research produced by underrepresented groups, with a focus on the Global South and to help you find research from across the globe. You might wish to use these resources in addition to databases such as Scopus and Web of Science. Many of the links are part of a collection put together bythe university of Leeds and an online Twitter community of interested professionals: Finding research from underrepresented voices - University of Leeds (exlibrisgroup.com)
The following journal articles have been published recently in this subject area. If you would like to be alerted to journal articles in your specific area of interest as they are published, see the Keeping Up To Date tab.
Many journal articles are now freely available online as they have been published "open access" in addition to their publication in a subscription journal.
You can use the following search tools to find open access journal articles:
If the item you would like to read is not available via Aston University Library, you can request the item from another Library. This is called Inter-library Loan. This service is available to all University students and staff.
Aston University is a member of the SCONUL Access reciprocal scheme which allows members to visit and use University libraries in the UK and Ireland. You are eligible to join the scheme if you are
Full Time Undergraduate students are not eligible for SCONUL Access membership, but may be able to use other libraries on a reference only basis under the SCONUL Vacation Access scheme.
The reference for a journal article usually looks something like this:
Clough, H., & Closier, A. (2018). Walking the talk: Using digital media to develop distance learners’ digital citizenship at the Open University (UK). Reference Librarian, Vol 59 (3), pp 129-133.
There are two main ways to find the full text of a journal article from a reference:
When you find an article you would like to use in your piece of the work, the reference details can be found in the following way: