Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Organisations and associations
American Translators Association (ATA)
ATA is a professional association founded to advance the translation and interpreting professions and foster the professional development of individual translators and interpreters.
Directorate-General for Translation of the European Commission
The European Commission's Directorate-General for Translation is the largest translation service in the world. Includes links to a number of translation tools and publications.
Official website of the EU. Topics include policy, economy, law and financial reports.
Institute of Translation and interpreting (ITI)
The Institute of Translation & Interpreting was founded in 1986 as the only independent professional association of practising translators and interpreters in the United Kingdom. It is now one of the primary sources of information on these services to government, industry, the media and the general public.
International Federation of Translators (FIT)
FIT is an international federation of associations of translators, interpreters and terminologists gathering more than 100 associations from all over the world. Its purpose is to promote professionalism in the disciplines it represents.
Guide to news and work of Parliament. Information about members of both houses. Downloadable guides available.
Web Resources - publishers of translation books
Routledge Translation Studies Portal
This portal offers a wide range of online resources and teaching materials, links to key organisations and samples from our ground-breaking titles in translation and interpreting studies.
Bibliography of Interpreting and Translation
Free comprehensive bibliographic database covering literature in translation studies. Can be searched in different European languages.
WebCorp is a suite of tools which allows access to the World Wide Web as a corpus - a large collection of texts from which facts about the language can be extracted.
WordSmith Tools is an integrated suite of programs for looking at how words behave in texts. You will be able to use the tools to find out how words are used in your own texts, or those of others.
LEO GmbH is a leading provider of online German dictionaries. Members can connect with each other via the LEO forums, improve their vocabulary with the help of the vocab trainer or sign up for a language course and learn a new language or refresh their language skills.
Multilingual term base of EU
IATE incorporates all of the existing terminology databases of the EU’s translation services into a single new, highly interactive and accessible interinstitutional database.
The WordReference Dictionary is a living, growing dictionary specially adapted to the online environment. It also contains a forum full of questions other people have asked.