Databases are specialist search engines providing access to a vast range of e-books, journal articles, newspaper & magazine articles, reports, case studies, statistics, and more!
Scroll down this page to view the full range of subject specific databases available to you.
button.If you want to have a look at the full range of databases available, across all subjects,, access a full A-Z list of all subscribed resources below.
Links to all our subscribed databases, plus information on coverage and details of how to log in.
 |
Web of Science provides access to Medline, as well as a number of other relevant scientific databases. Medline is the US National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database. Content mainly consists of biomedicine and health research. |
 |
OVID MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 28 million references to journal articles in life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). |
|
|
This database provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines including books, dissertations and conference proceedings. You will find a host of useful information about its content and unique features, as well as E-Learning Modules and PowerPoint presentations via the ProQuest APA PsycInfo LibGuide - https://proquest.libguides.com/psycinfo. |
| SciFinder CAS SciFinder is your one true source for authoritatively identifying a chemical substance and its related chemical structures, chemical names, regulatory information, and properties. |  |
| Knovel **First time users will be required to register** Knovel is an online technical resource providing access to close to 2,000 leading reference works and databases from over 40 international publishers and professional societies. Knovel's content collection includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations, and formulations. |  |
| ChemSpider ***Open access - no login required.*** ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 28 million structures from hundreds of data sources. |  |
|
|
PubMed is a biomedical literature database, providing access to references from MEDLINE as well as citations yet to be indexed for MEDLINE, scientific citations outside of MEDLINE's scope, and online books. |
 |
The Cochrane Library is an online collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The collection includes Cochrane Systematic Reviews, abstracts of other systematic reviews published in medical and health journals and a register of controlled clinical trials. Cochrane Library searches these sources simultaneously. Cochrane Clinical Answers are also available.Please see following tab for more information. |
| Cochrane Clinical Answers |
Cochrane Clinical Answers provide simplified, digestible summaries of the rigorous research from Cochrane Systematic Reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care. Each Cochrane Clinical Answer consists of a clinical question, a short answer and an opportunity to link through to the full evidence from the original Cochrane Systematic Review. |
 |
Embase is a unique medical literature database that will help staff and students in HLS conduct systematic reviews, tracking drug safety and collecting clinical data. Further support, written guides and FAQs are available through Elsevier support pages at https://service.elsevier.com/app/home/supporthub/embase/ |
When writing a literature review, depending on the research questions and on the type of review, you might want to expand sources of information to include databases from different parts of the world. This way, your search results will be less biased towards research outputs from the Global North.
Here are some databases you can use:
Slide from Falconer, J. (2023). Decolonising global health, one systematic search at a time. Available at: https://eahil2023.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/06/Falconer-Oralpresentations51_DecolonisingLiteratureSearching_JaneFalconer.pdf.
Research from underrepresented voices - Created by the University of Leeds, this collection of databases was created in June 2021 to showcase and highlight research produced by underrepresented groups, with a particular focus on the Global South.
Global Index Medicus - The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. GIM indexes 5 regional indexes.
HINARI - A database of biomedical and health literature indexing over 14,000 journals and covering 30 different languages.
Institutional Repository for Information Sharing (IRIS) – Institutional Repository for Information Sharing (IRIS) is the digital library of WHO’s published material in full text produced since 1948.
PakMediNet - PakMediNet is a database indexing medical journals from Pakistan. Its aim is to promote Pakistani Based Medical Research and Pakistani Medical Journals.
LILACS – Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences Literatures (LILACS) provides access to more than 800,000 records of peer reviewed journals and other research outputs from the Latin American and Caribbean regions.
