To start an in-depth search simply click on one of the links below, and follow any log-in requests using your Aston University username and password. Depending on the database, a full-text article can be obtained by clicking on the PDF/HTML link or details of provision can be found by clicking on the 
button.
When writing a literature review, depending on the research questions and on the type of review, you might want to expand sources of information to include databases from different parts of the world. This way, your search results will be less biased towards research outputs from the Global North.
Here are some databases you can use:
Global Index Medicus - The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. GIM indexes 5 regional indexes.
HINARI - A database of biomedical and health literature indexing over 14,000 journals and covering 30 different languages.
Institutional Repository for Information Sharing (IRIS) – Institutional Repository for Information Sharing (IRIS) is the digital library of WHO’s published material in full text produced since 1948.
LILACS – Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences Literatures (LILACS) provides access to more than 800,000 records of peer reviewed journals and other research outputs from the Latin American and Caribbean regions.
PakMediNet - PakMediNet is a database indexing medical journals from Pakistan. Its aim is to promote Pakistani Based Medical Research and Pakistani Medical Journals.
Research from underrepresented voices - Created by the University of Leeds, this collection of databases was created in June 2021 to showcase and highlight research produced by underrepresented groups, with a particular focus on the Global South.
