Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use journals?
From the First Year to the Final Year of your degree, your module lecturers will want to see that you have talked about research in journal articles in your assessments.
Journal articles are usually:
- first hand reports of original research, making them primary source material
- the first place where new research is published, so they are at the cutting edge of your subject
- peer-reviewed, meaning that the articles have been critically evaluated by experts in the field before publication.
You can browse all the journal titles held at Aston University Library via the Journal A-Z list:
Search for resources using Library SmartSearch
To start an in-depth search simply click on one of the links below, and follow any log-in requests using your Aston University username and password. Depending on the database, a full-text article can be obtained by clicking on the PDF/HTML link or details of provision can be found by clicking on the button.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) Business Source Complete is the upgraded version of Business Source Premier. If you're a student wanting business information, we recommend using the Enhanced Business Searching Interface (BSI), EBSCO's highly focused user interface created especially for business researchers. It provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry market trends or potential, and market research.
Business Source Complete provides full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Proquest The Proquest platform hosts the following databases: ABI/INFORM Complete, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, Accounting & Tax, Banking Information Source, British Periodicals, ebrary, Periodicals Archive Online, ProQuest Asian Business & Reference, ProQuest Entrepreneurship, PsycARTICLES.
Scopus Scopus is a comprehensive, bibliographic database covering scientific, medical, technical and social science subjects.
Web of Science Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Medline.
What are academic (scholarly) jounals?
Notes on terminology
- Journals are sometimes also referred to as periodicals or serials.
- Some databases refer to peer-reviewed journals as scholarly journals or academic journals.
- Some journals, eg. trade journals and industry magazines, are not always peer-reviewed.
- Review articles in journals are summaries of the literature, ie. a secondary source.
Using Library SmartSearch to find..
How to find a journal article from a reference
The reference for a journal article usually looks something like this:
Clough, H., & Closier, A. (2018). Walking the talk: Using digital media to develop distance learners’ digital citizenship at the Open University (UK). Reference Librarian, Vol 59 (3), pp 129-133.
There are two main ways to find the full text of a journal article from a reference:
- Type the article title into the Library SmartSearch (or your database of choice), and use to access full text
- Search for the journal title in the A-Z list of journals (link below)
When you find an article you would like to use in your piece of the work, the reference details can be found in the following way: