Skip to main content

Product Design: Market Research

Finding market research

The sources on this page will help you when you are looking for information about a product, the market for a certain product or both.  In researching a product or its market you may find an overwhelming amount of information or you may struggle to find only a small amount of information.  It depends on the nature of the product and the size of its market.

 

Market reports - databases

    

BMI Research will provide quarterly macroeconomic and country risk analysis for 200 developed, emerging and frontier nations worldwide in addition to industry reports for 22 industries across the same countries.  All country and industry specific reports include 5 and 10 year forecasts.  In addition to analysis, BMI also includes a large bank of 1.7 million lines of data and an easy to use charting function allowing users to visualise, manipulate and download data with ease.

The Library provides access to market reports through a subscription to Business Source Complete.  The report series includes

  • MarketLine
  • Barnes
  • IHS

 

To access please choose Business Searching Interface

  • On the right hand side of the screen there is a browse menu
  • You can browse market research reports, industry profiles or company profiles
  • Alternatively you can use the search boxes to look for a country, industry or company

Passport is owned by Euromonitor and provides access to

  • Industry data - multi-country relational database of market and category sizes, market shares, distribution patterns, sales forecasts and other measurements relevant to each sector.
  • Country reports - in-depth analysis reports on both developed and emerging national markets. Each report provides qualitative commentary on sales trends, new product and marketing developments, consumer preferences, national company and brand competition and market strategies, and the views and assumptions underlying national sales forecasts.
  • Company profiles - analytical profiles of the top international players in the industry, compiled in a standardised format for cross analysis.
  • Comment - articles and presentations on key themes and discussion topics around the dynamics of the category.

NEW MODULE available in the Economies tab
Passport Industrials
Industrial is a breakthrough economic research solution analysing the industrial makeup of the world’s largest economies, providing actionable insight on industries and supply chains. With cross-comparable statistics, strategic assessments and interactive dashboards visualising production and buyer / supplier relationships in 177 industries.

Please view the 5 minute tutorial below

Our subscription to Proquest includes ABI Inform Complete and Proquest Entrepreneurship which provide the following market report series:

  • Business Monitor International
  • First Research
  • Just-Series
  • The Snapshot series
  • EIU Commodity and Country reports
  • Oxford Economics
Loading

Article research - databases

You can find article information on a company, industry or product through the journal databases.

Using Industry codes

An important first step of business research is to identify & use the industry's code.

So, what is an industry code? A Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) was first introduced into the UK in 1948 for use in classifying business establishments and other statistical units by the type of economic activity in which they are engaged.  In the United States the SIC code is being supplanted by the six-digit North American Industry Classification System (NAICS code)

In the article research databases like Proquest and Business Source Complete, you can search by SIC or NAICS code.  This will allow you to run a search for a given industry.