Skip to main content

Construction Management: Company Information

Finding company information and annual reports

Company information is available from many different sources including; news websites and newspapers, a company's own website and online databases. All UK Public Limited companies are required to publish their accounts and annual reports online, so the company's own website is an excellent place to start your search.

An annual report is a comprehensive report on a company's activities throughout the preceding year and are intended to give shareholders and other interested people information about the company's activities and financial performance.

Most jurisdictions require companies to prepare and disclose annual reports, and many require the annual report to be filed at the company's registry. Companies listed on a stock exchange are also required to report at more frequent intervals (depending upon the rules of the stock exchange involved).

Private Limited companies are not required to publish their accounts online, but Library Services subscribes to several online databases where this information can be found.

Company Information - data analysis

FAME will allow you to search for company financial information over the last 10 years which can be exported in to Microsoft packages such as Word or Excel.  In some cases, you can retrieve scanned annual reports and interim reports for UK companies via FAME.  Look for the  option at the bottom of the page


Orbis is a global financial database.  You can view the figures but you can not download the full text of a company annual report. We do not subscribe to the Original Documents feature

> Search for a company name
> Click on the company name in the results list
> Scroll down the menu links on the right hand side
> Choose the menu item Financial Data                                             

> You can now see the sections available                             

 

 Worldscope data

Is available through a database called Datastream.  Datastream is available on a single computer, 2nd floor of the Library.

The Worldscope Data Definitions Guide is available on the Datastream Extranet (Datastream Extranet login required, or select Extranet when using Datastream.)


 

Compustat (CRSP)
Compustat uses data from two providers (S&P Compustat & CRSP) delivered through a CRSP platform.   Comprehensive financial data of over 5,000 items adjusted for accounting difference.  Coverage includes over 28,000 North American active and inactive companies.  20 years on annual data, 12 years of quarterly and period data, 20 years of monthly price and dividend data and 5 years of daily price history.

This research database is purchased by the Business School.  If you are interested in using this product please speak to your supervisor.

Loading ...

Annual Reports - websites

Company information - Article Research

Datastream - Economic and Equity data

Datastream

Datastream is a sophisticated financial, accounting and economics database providing access to ten data categories with an archive of 25 years. Students normally use Datastream for stock analysis on UK, European or global companies or for researching economic indicators and country analysis.

Our subscription to Datastream allows a single user accessing the database at any time.  We have installed the software on a single computer in the Lbrary Building.  The location of the computer is

Aston University Library
1st floor (outside the Library Office)

You can book a research time using the online booking system - view the Datastream page on the Business and Management LibGuide for more information