The sources on this page will help you when you are looking for information about a product, the market for a certain product or both. In researching a product or its market you may find an overwhelming amount of information or you may struggle to find only a small amount of information. It depends on the nature of the product and the size of its market.
The Library provides access to market reports through a subscription to Business Source Complete. The report series includes
To access please choose Business Searching Interface
IBISWorld is an online industry intelligence solution. Covering 432 UK industries at SIC L5, each of its industry reports provides the most detailed performance data and analysis on the market; supply chain information; forecasts; risk scores; operating strengths and weaknesses; analysis of external drivers; major player market strategies; and industry profit and costs benchmarks. Reports are updated three times per year on average ensuring the most up to date research possible.
In addition to coursework/assignments, these reports would be of use to students researching industries for placements, future careers (including start up research) and interview preparation.
Did you find this database useful for your research? Let your Information Specialist know! Please contact Nicola Dennis firstname.lastname@example.org with your feedback.
Passport is owned by Euromonitor and provides access to
NEW MODULE available in the Economies tab
Industrial is a breakthrough economic research solution analysing the industrial makeup of the world’s largest economies, providing actionable insight on industries and supply chains. With cross-comparable statistics, strategic assessments and interactive dashboards visualising production and buyer / supplier relationships in 177 industries.
Please view the tutorials below beginning with "Getting Started"
Our subscription to Proquest includes ABI Inform Complete and Proquest Entrepreneurship which provide the following market report series:
You can find article information on a company, industry or product through the journal databases. Try some of the databases below:
An important first step of business research is to identify & use the industry's code.
So, what is an industry code? A Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) was first introduced into the UK in 1948 for use in classifying business establishments and other statistical units by the type of economic activity in which they are engaged. In the United States the SIC code is being supplanted by the six-digit North American Industry Classification System (NAICS code)
In the article research databases like Proquest and Business Source Complete, you can search by SIC or NAICS code. This will allow you to run a search for a given industry.