Skip to main content

Human Resource Management: Finding Journal Articles

Why use journals?

From the First Year to the Final Year of your degree, your module lecturers will want to see that you have talked about research in journal articles in your assessments.

Journal articles are usually:

  • first hand reports of original research, making them primary source material
  • the first place where new research is published, so they are at the cutting edge of your subject
  • peer-reviewed, meaning that the articles have been critically evaluated by experts in the field before publication.

You can browse all the journal titles held at Aston University Library via the Journal A-Z list:

Recommended sources for journal articles

You will be able to search across journal articles on a topic by using Library SmartSearch, and this may be most appropriate for you if you need to obtain a few full-text journal articles on a particular subject.

 

 

There are a collection of Business Journals that are not accessible via Library SmartSearch which are hosted on a database called Proquest.  To start an in-depth search simply click on the link below, and follow any log-in requests using your Aston University username and password.  A full-text article can be obtained by clicking on the PDF/HTML link or details of provision can be found by clicking on the Find it @ Aston button. 

In addition to the journal collections listed on this page, there are subject specific collections relevant to economics and finance students.

 

includes 440 journal titles from the American Economic Association (all with no embargo) such as; American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature and Journal of Economic Perspectives.  This database also contains many non-English full-text journals in economics and finance.


Library Services subscribe to The Economist online which offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology.  All the articles from The Economist print edition (including those printed only in British copies) are published and there is a searchable online archive that dates back June 1997. You can also view a variety of web-only content, including blogs, debates and audio/video programmes.

In addition to the journal collections listed on this page, there is a subject specific collection relevant to a student studying work psychology, employee motivation and consumer behaviour.

is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals. You can access PsycARTICLES via our subscription to Proquest

Most of the 78 APA journals included in PsycARTICLES now go back to volume 1, issue 1. The earliest journal is Psychological Review, which was started in 1894. The database also contains journals that are no longer published. For a full list, click here

 

Loading ...

How to improve your keyword searches for journal articles

Keyword searching is generally what you use when you are first beginning a search. Try to break down your topic or research question into the overall main ideas; these main ideas become simple keywords which you may use to search a Library database. It's useful to keep a keyword list when you are researching a topic. This will help you remember the words you have already tried searching, the combinations you have used, and any new words you noticed in search results that you want to try in your searches later.

Watch this short video to help you improve your search skills:

Accessing journal articles not available via our subscriptions

Open Access LogoMany journal articles are now freely available online as they have been published "open access" in addition to their publication in a subscription journal.

You can use the following search tools to find open access journal articles:

If the item you would like to read is not available via Aston University Library, you can request the item from another Library.  This is called Inter-library Loan.  This service is available to all University students and staff. 

Aston University is a member of the SCONUL Access reciprocal scheme which allows members to visit and use University libraries in the UK and Ireland.  You are eligible to join the scheme if you are

  • academic staff
  • full-time postgraduate / postgraduate research student,
  • part-time studentSCONUL Logo
  • distance learner
  • placement student

 

Full Time Undergraduate students are not eligible for SCONUL Access membership, but may be able to use other libraries on a reference only basis under the SCONUL Vacation Access scheme.

Loading ...

How to find a journal article from a reference

The reference for a journal article usually looks something like this:

Author(s), (Year in brackets). Article title. Journal title in italics, Volume number (Issue number in brackets), Page numbers.

For example:
Clough, H., & Closier, A. (2018). Walking the talk: Using digital media to develop distance learners’ digital citizenship at the Open University (UK). Reference Librarian, Vol 59 (3), pp 129-133.

There are two main ways to find the full text of a journal article from a reference:

  • Type the article title into the Library SmartSearch (or your database of choice), and use Find it @ Aston button to access full text
  • Search for the journal title in the A-Z list of journals (link below)

 

When you find an article you would like to use in your piece of the work, the reference details can be found in the following way:

JSTOR 'Register and Read'

JSTOR

The library subscribes to a number of journals on the database JSTOR, which you can access through the link above. However, JSTOR also offer an additional service that may be useful to you, called 'Register and Read'. Create a personal account here, then access a large number of journal articles that are not available through the library's subscriptions.

  1. Do an advanced search and untick 'Include only content I can access'. You can now search through all articles available on JSTOR, including ones that the library does not have a subscription to.
  2. Search your topic, and select an article that you would like to read from your search results. If the library has not paid for access to this article, there may be an option to click 'Read Online Free' above the article preview. Click on this.
  3. You can then add the article to your “reading shelf” to read the full text. You can save up to 3 articles on your shelf at a given time. After 14 days, you can remove articles and replace them with new ones.

Convert documents into a format that you need with SensusAccess

SensusAccess is provided by Aston University to enable students and staff to convert documents into a wide range of alternative media.

It is an automated document conversion service that will help enable you to convert your readings, slides and lecture notes into formats that work best for you. For example you could convert an image only PDF or JPEG file to a word document, MP3 file or e-book.

SensusAccess is great for supporting different learning styles, and for providing help when reading text in a foreign language.

SensusAccess is entirely automated and the documents you submit to the service are automatically deleted once they have been converted. You do not need to worry about keeping your privacy as SensusAccess does not store personal information.

http://www.aston.ac.uk/library/sensusaccess/

Recently published journal articles

The following journal articles have been published recently in the areas of business & management.  If you would like to be alerted to journal articles in your specific area of interest as they are published, see the Keeping Up To Date tab.

Loading ...