About Open Access publishing:
About depositing in Aston Research Explorer using PURE:
Open Access (OA) publishing promotes the sharing of research freely and openly to all readers through unrestricted access to publications, principally journal articles, on the internet. Free access to research outputs has significant social, economic and scientific benefits, and forms part of the Government’s commitment to transparency and open data.
This comprises depositing research output, including journal articles and published conference papers, in an institutional and/or subject repository. This process applies at all Aston authors - whether the corresponding author or as a co-author. The version of an article deposited is normally the 'Final author manuscript' (post-peer review), also known as the 'Accepted'/'Post-print' version. Depositing this version in the institutional repository helps to make the content widely available, often after an embargo expires. See these instructions explaining how to deposit/upload. 'Green' OA publishing forms the basis of inclusion for the next REF in 2020.
This comprises immediate Open Access of a journal article on the publisher's website, usually in exchange for a fee, ie. an Article Processing Charge (APC). 'Gold' OA journal articles are normally published under the Creative Commons Attribution Licence 3.0 or 4.0 (CC BY); use of this licence is a condition of UKRI (formerly RCUK), the Wellcome Trust & other members of COAF, and is the preference with EC FP7/Horizon 2020 funding. For more information on this type of licence and others see this infographic.
HE funding bodies, notably UK Research & Innovation (UKRI - the new body combining HEFCE and Research Councils UK), the European Commission and the Wellcome Trust, now mandate for OA publication of journal articles and conference papers. For funder-specific compliance requirements in relation to depositing articles, accessibility embargoes and subject repositories click on the relevant funder logo on this page to see a PDF information sheet.
Certain time scales are important to ensure Open Access compliance:
A journal that is Green OA compliant allows the uploading of publication details (metadata) plus the accepted/post-print version into PURE. Most publishers provide information on this aspect on their websites, usually under a section called “Green Open Access” or “self-archiving in a repository” – useful if at the submission stage as well as acceptance stage. At the time of acceptance many publishers will also include details of Green/self-archiving in their email. Three databases also exist –
An embargo is the delay period imposed by a publisher on making full-text articles available online, eg. in an institutional and/or subject repository. Embargoes can vary from six months to two years after publication (including early online publication) in some cases. Sometimes a publisher's embargo conflicts with a funder's requirement, so it is worth checking this before you publish. The maximum main HE funder (ie. UKRI/HEFCE, RCUK, Wellcome Trust/COAF, European Commission) embargoes for OA compliance are:
The embargo period set (as specified by the publisher) can still be in place during the period of the REF, but for UKRI/HEFCE/RCUK/Wellcome Trust OA compliance to be met the embargo should not exceed the above timescales.
For more details on funder-specific compliance requirements in relation to depositing articles, accessibility embargoes and subject repositories see the relevant PDF.
Making an article 'Gold' Open Access involves the payment of an article processing charge (APC) - this includes the OA fee and, if applicable, page/colour printing charges. For Aston-based corresponding authors/principal investigators, Library Services administers and advises on payments for 'Gold' APCs from two budgets:
If you are submitting an article to, or have recently had an article accepted in, a high quality journal and would like to be considered for a 'Gold' APC payment complete the Gold OA Application Form or email email@example.com with details. Library Services will reply to you with relevant advice within two working days of submission of the form/emailing. If publication cost funds are already included in youruse this source; similarly if your School has funds available you can apply there to use them, but also notify Library Services as a discount scheme may exist which we can advise on. For ABS and LHS, in all cases, contact us as we administer their budgets.
Generally, the decision to fund a 'Gold' Article Processing Charge (APC) will encompass:
The UKRI/ RCUK Policy on Open Access states “All papers must include … if applicable, a statement on how the underlying research materials – such as data, samples or models – can be accessed.” For more information on Research Data Management see the Library's RDM LibGuide.
Aston's repository was originally branded as AURA but is now included in Aston Research Explorer (powered by PURE). All content remains unchanged and PURE remains the means by which authors populate Aston's institutional repository.
PURE is the current Research Information System used by Aston to manage our research activities. Aston Research Explorer is the external portal onto PURE that exposes the information in PURE for external use and acts as our research repository, but it also contains information on schools, people and our research activities. Researchers need to enter information about their publications into PURE for inclusion in Aston Research Explorer and we are able to control which information is exposed through Aston Research Explorer.
Any Aston University member of staff can deposit their research publications. New members of staff are welcome to archive work from posts in other institutions.
Your deposits will remain in the repository, but you may also archive your publications in your new institution’s repository.
you maximise your work's impact by widening your audience and making it accessible to those without journal subscription access
you increase the citation of your publications as they are indexed by search engines and other more specific scholarly services, with the enriched metadata helping to ensure that they will appear amongst the top rankings
people can subscribe to RSS feeds of your work, so they will be automatically notified when you add something new
you can track how many times your publications have been downloaded
If you are the author of the publication, you are the copyright owner. However, when your paper is accepted for publication, the publisher agreement may require you to transfer the copyright to the publisher and places restrictions on using or distributing your work. You should retain copyright details from your agreement with the publisher. In the case of most 'Gold' Open Access articles published under a Creative Commons Attribution Licence (eg. CC BY) copyright is retained by the author.
If the publisher owns the copyright, they may allow you to place a specific version in Aston Research Explorer. You should check the publisher's policies on their website, SHERPA or contact the Research Archive Specialist for assistance. Even if your publisher prevents you from depositing your paper, you should still upload the bibliographic details and a link to the article and/or the publisher’s website.
If you own the copyright you are free to deposit the publication in the repository.
Journal articles can be deposited depending on your publisher agreement. The agreement should state if, when and how you are permitted to make the paper available on Aston Research Explorer (this is sometimes referred to as 'self-archiving'). On RoMEO you may check for the details on the publisher polices. Some publishers may grant permission on specific application even if you have signed your copyright away. Most publishers do not allow their branded PDF to be uploaded, but often allow your own final version of the article to be uploaded. Some publishers may impose an embargo, after which you may upload the full text article.
Conference papers can be deposited if copyright has not be assigned elsewhere by the organisers. Otherwise you need to contact the publisher of the proceedings.
Books and chapters can only be uploaded if you have retained the copyright, though you should check your publisher agreement. If you do not have the publisher agreement, you should send a request to your book publisher for the permission to deposit the publication.
Non-text items (e.g. images, artwork, audio, etc.), please contact the Research Archive Specialist to discuss how to make these available.
There are several reasons why you should still upload the bibliographic information:
Depositing your items on the repository does not change your rights, which are dependant on the publisher agreement. Please see the University IP Policy, however generally:
More and more publishers are developing policies favorable to institutional repositories, suggesting that they do not have an adverse effect on the sale of journals.
Furthermore publishers who only prevent the deposit of the publisher PDF see the repository as means of showcasing the paper. In fact, once you deposit your final draft, in the comment field, you may need to put a copyright statement such as: "When citing this article, please refer to the publisher version in [journal title and volume details]", also include a corresponding link.
When a user selects your publication for viewing, before the document itself opens, there is summary page, which gives the correct citation for the paper. When you upload the documents, you need only to input the correct bibliographic details in the fields.
Although it is true that the availability of electronic text makes it easy to cut and paste sections, depositing in a repository is an additional deterrent to plagiarism as:
Uploading items to Aston Research Explorer does not affect any of your rights, on the contrary, it helps to assert your copyright worldwide. However if you expect to make money from your work (for example, a book), understandably you will not want it to be freely available through the repository. In these cases you may deposit just bibliographic details or impose an embargo on the full-text until you have made the most of your royalties.
Check your publisher agreement or contact the publisher.
When you published your work, you should have obtained written permission to include third party material in your work. Unless this permission explicitly allows you to upload the material online, you should obtain permission in writing.
No. Making your research available before publication may harm the commercial value of your research and inhibit your chances of securing a publishing agreement.
When you upload items to Aston Research Explorer you are asked to agree to the Deposit Licence. This grants Aston the right to make a copy of your work available online, to alter its format as necessary and to remove it if deemed necessary in accordance with the take-down policy.
Yes, for REF 2020 compliance purposes (ie. journal articles and published conference papers with an ISSN), and in accordance with Aston’s own OA policy, PURE is the central repository for all Aston’s research output. Therefore, uploading to PURE must be in addition to any other repositories eg. PubMed Central or ArXiv, or websites eg. ResearchGate or personal web pages.
Adding items to Aston Research Explorer is easy:
Instructions are available here.
Bibliographic details and embargo compliance will be checked by the Open Access & Research Repository Specialist before the item is made publicly available.
It depends, due to HEFCE’s time-factor-compliance, ie. deposit soon after acceptance, the only suitable online source now is CrossRef which uses the DOI created shortly after the acceptance of an article/paper (usually within a week). Scopus/Pub Med have a delay so can only be used for later tidy of existing records; ArXiv and GoogleScholar should not be relied upon because of both delay and variable data quality.
You should upload either the final publisher version or author accepted version for Gold Open Access, or the author accepted version for Green Open Access; preferably deposited items should be in PDF format. However, we recommend you seek confirmation on this aspect via firstname.lastname@example.org.
What type of publication? - Subject to copyright permission you can upload the following items, which have been authored, co-authored or edited by Aston University staff:
You should not upload:
Only if the following conditions are satisfied:
When you upload in the 'status' field, please indicate that the paper is 'in press'.
Your paper only appears online after the Research Repository Specialist vets it by checking the bibliographic details, and copyright & embargo specifications. This will normally take 3 working days.
When you add bibliographic information you put the notice in the box ‘Bibliographical note’ and it will appear on your abstract page on the Repository.
Ideally publications should be converted into PDF before they are uploaded. If you have a PDF creator:
If you do not have a PDF creator installed on your computer, and you want to upload PDF, please contact the ISA helpdesk.
If applicable, publication records in PURE should have a link, ie 'Relation', with the PURE record of the project. This will enable the Research Support Office to report to research funders to demonstrate compliance on your behalf.