Skip to main content

Open Access publishing for Aston authors: How to publish OA

Background

The Open Access publishing workflow process you should follow is shown in the box to the right, and see this related timeline.  

  • Once your article has been submitted/accepted for publication please  email openaccess@aston.ac.uk with details, so we can begin guiding you through the Open Access (OA) publishing process. 
  • Specific HE funder OA compliance requirements exist and need to be met, eg. HEFCE, RCUK, European Commission, Wellcome Trust/COAF.
    • Note: There are developing compliance requirements also in relation to 'Research Data Management' (RDM) -  see  the RDM LibGuide for detailed information on this aspect. 
  • Detalied explanations of how the 'Green' and 'Gold' OA publishing processes work are given below:

Gold OA: what you need to do

 'Gold' OA publishing

This type of OA publishing involves the payment of an article processing charge (APC) - this includes the OA fee and, if applicable, page/colour printing charges.  A specific  'Gold' APC application and OA publishing process exists.  Various sources of APC funding may be available to Aston authors, usually with 'corresponding author' and/or 'principal investigator' status:

  • If publication cost funds are already included in your research grant, can be reimbursed or can be claimed post-grant  you should use this source.
  • The RCUK budget for a select number of articles from research funded by  AHRC, BBSRC, EPSRC, ESRC, MRC, NERC or STFC.
  • The institutional budget for a select number of articles from other research projects or unfunded research.
  • If your School has funds available you can apply there to use them, but also notify Library Services as a discount scheme may exist which we can advise on. For ABS, in all cases, please contact us as we administer their budget.

 

The 'Gold' APC and publishing process is:

  1. Library Services administers and advises on payments for APCs from the two 'Gold' APC budgets above.  If you are submitting an article to, or have recently had an article accepted in, a high quality journal and would like to be considered for a 'Gold' APC payment complete this Gold OA Application Form or email openaccess@aston.ac.uk with details.  Library Services will reply to you with relevant advice within two working days of submission of the form/emailing. 
     
  2. Note: In some exceptional circumstances an Aston co-author may be allowed to arrange for their corresponding author based at another institution to have an APC paid for by Aston; for example, in order to achieve OA compliance if no funds are available there or from elsewhere.
     
  3. Generally, as per Aston's OA Policy and Code of Practice (inc. Guidance), the decision to fund an APC will encompass journal quality (ie. usually 3* or 4*, or equivalent), paper quality, journal OA compliance and APC/publication cost.  The decision-making processes and criteria for each School are detailed here: ABSEASLHSLSS, and the new AMS.
     
  4. 'Gold' OA journal articles are normally published under the Creative Commons Attribution Licence 3.0 or 4.0 (CC BY); use of this licence is a condition of funding from RCUK, the Wellcome Trust & other members of COAF, and is the preference with EU FP7/Horizon 2020 funding.  For more information on this type of licence and others see this infographic.
     
  5. All journal articles published as 'Gold' via any APC route should also be deposited in Aston Research Explorer (powered by PURE) as soon as possible either after acceptance or after publication (inc. early online), within three months in each case.  This requires deposition of the metadata plus Author Accepted Manuscript or early online/final published version; if applicable, also deposit in a relevant subject repository - some publishers do this latter automatically.
     
  6. Login to PURE and follow these instructions on how to self-archive/deposit.  For advice on depositing in PURE contact openaccess@aston.ac.uk; for general advice on PURE contact the Research & Enterprise Office
     
  7. For funder-specific compliance requirements in relation to depositing articles, accessibility embargoes and subject repositories see the relevant PDF.
     
  8. Aston has membership of various 'Gold' OA publishing schemes:
  • Discount  schemes  with  the  following  publishers:  Elsevier (10%), BioMedCentral  (10%), Wiley (15%), Taylor & Francis (£450 per article) and Sage (£200-£400 per article) - if payment for an APC is agreed please inform the publisher that you are an Aston University author and thus qualify for the discount. 
  • Springer provides 'free' APCs in their hybrid titles as part of our subscription - contact openaccess@aston.ac.uk for further details.

Copyright & your intellectual property

Copyright Law will protect your rights in your own creative work and give credit for your research and innovations via attribution, see the Copyright and Intellectual Property LibGuide for detailed information.

Green OA: what you need to do

'Green' OA publishing

Aston's OA Policy and Code of Practice (inc. Guidance), a is that all journal and conference publications should meet 'Green' status (if not Gold), in line with HE funder mandates for specific levels of discoverability and accessibility.  This process is based on using Aston Research Explorer (powered by PURE), and applies to all Aston authors - whether the corresponding author or as a co-author.

To be 'Green' OA compliant you need to: 

  1. Check that your journal is 'Green' compliant, ie. the publisher allows you to deposit a version of the article in an institutional or subject repository - see the "Green OA"/"self-archiving" section on the journal/publisher website, the databases SherpaREF (HEFCE & the next REF), Sherpa RoMEO (general) or Sherpa FACT (funder-specific), and/or contact openaccess@aston.ac.uk for advice.
     
  2. If 'Green' compliant, self-archive/upload your publication record (metadata)  and a version of the full-text article, namely the author's peer-reviewed, accepted manuscript, or 'post-print', in Aston Research Explorer (powered by PURE) within a maximum of three months of acceptance.  Library Services will ensure any embargo is respected; where applicable some embargoes start from early online publication date.
     
  3. However, where possible, we recommend that you deposit both the metadata and full-text version of the article as soon as possible after acceptance (ie. within one month), because of the various compliance checking procedures Library Services needs to undertake.
     
  4. Note: HEFCE has recently (November 2016) introduced an interim timescale of allowing deposit soon after publication (inc. early online) for the period April 2016 to March 2018, however we are recommending authors still deposit asap after acceptance to ensure continued compliance.
     
  5. To self-archive/deposit, login to:
pure
  • Follow these instructions on how to self-archive/deposit.  For advice on depositing in PURE contact openaccess@aston.ac.uk; for general advice on PURE contact the Research & Enterprise Office.
  • If your publication record, with or without the full-text article added, has already been validated by Library Services it will be 'locked' for editing purposes.  Please contact openaccess@aston.ac.uk for advice if you need to edit your publication record and/or have the full-text article added.
  • If you have the DOI for your publication you can use CrossRef, the DOI repository, to import the metadata and then upload the post-print version of your article.  CrossRef is now available as a source of publication details at the bottom of the 'ADD' page in PURE.

  • For funder-specific compliance requirements in relation to depositing articles, accessibility embargoes and subject repositories see the relevant PDF.