Skip to main content

Podiatry: Accessing online resources

Online databases

Below are some quick links to a small selection of our online databases. If the database you want isn't listed, search for the title using the Library SmartSearch box.

Searching for online resources

 

As a visitor to the Library, you may access many of our online resources for the time that you're in the building. Please note:

  • a dedicated laptop is available for Podiatry students to borrow from the Library Help desk on the Ground Floor
  • access to our online resources is not available to you while you're not in the Library building
  • you may be blocked from some resources as some publishers specify that their content should only be accessed by Aston University members
  • you are only permitted to use our online resources for the purpose of education, teaching, distance learning, private study and/or research

In order to access our online resources, you need to request a username and password from the Help desk which can be usedfor either the Library Services laptop or your own laptop whislt studying in the Library.

Use the search box below to search for online materials such as electronic journals, articles and online databases.

The smartest way to start your search

 

 


Search for books using the search box above.

If you want to search for journal articles, use the databases listed in the Accessing online resources tab.

What can I access?

Online articles
You may see a PDF or HTML link to an article in your results list. These are restricted materials that are available only to Aston members. If you see a record for an online article that has a  icon underneath it, then click on this to link through to the article on the publisher’s site. If you’re prompted for a username and password to access the full-text of the article, then this will be content that is restricted to Aston members only.

Databases
If you know the name of the database that you would like to use (i.e. Business Source Premier, ScienceDirect etc.), use the search box on this page to search for it by name. Use the “On-campus” link to gain access. If you’re prompted for a username and password, then this will be a resource that is restricted to Aston members only.

E-journals
Search for the title of the e-journal in the search box on this page and click on Link to Aston’s Holdings or the  icon to link through to it. If you’re prompted for a username and password, then the full-text of the e-journal will be restricted to Aston members only.

E-books
If you come across any e-books during your searches, it is likely that you will be blocked from accessing them as the majority of our e-book providers restrict access to Aston members only.