Skip to main content

Biomedical Engineering: Business Case Studies

Finding case studies

The case method of analysis is common in Business Schools offering students the opportunity to analyze and react to real-life business situations. This page provides suggestion on how you can find case studies using library resources.

Business Case Studies - University databases

Case studies on companies and industries are sometimes used with academic textbooks.  They are usually highlighted in the contents page of the textbook.

Option 1: use Library SmartSearch to locate textbooks on a topic and then browse the contents pages or index at the back of the book to see if there are any case studies

Option 2: Go to the books tab of the LibGuide and search within the e-book databases.  You can search within the full text of the books on the database.  Type in case study and the topic you are interested in. 

HS Talks - The Business and Management Collection contains over 900 specially prepared, animated, online, video lectures and case studies by experts from commerce, industry, the professions and academia...

  • View animated lecture slides, talks and cases studies
  • Create clips which can easily be embedded in your presentation slides
  • Create a playlist which you can share with others
  • There are no restrictions and students can view in the UK and around the world

Image result for sage Business cases

SAGE Business Cases is the first digital collection tailored to library needs, providing librarians, faculty, and students with cases to support their curriculum and independent research. Launching with 1,000 cases from around the world, this collection will grow to 2,500 case studies by 2018. These cases are:

  • Accessible campus-wide, providing easy discovery for students and faculty for the use in courses and research 
  • Critically minded, up-to-date, and developed to elicit discussion and further research
  • Contemporary and newsworthy. Topics include Marketing, Operations Management, Small Business & Entrepreneurship, International Business, Human Resource Management, and more
  • Offered on SAGE's digital library platform, SAGE Knowledge, these cases are integrated with SAGE's book, video, and reference content, allowing for a rich scholarly environment and enhanced discovery

This collection brings together cases selected from a variety of sources, including key university and association partnerships, to meet the needs of business faculty and students internationally.

Proquest
The Proquest Business Package provides access to 100s of journal articles from international journal titles across all Business disciplines.  You can also access Business Cases published in journal articles.

Option 1
Once you have reached the Advanced Search screen > choose Browse > More Options and then Business Cases

Option 2
Once you have reached the Advanced Search screen, type in your search terms (name of company, product etc) and then choose Business Case and / or Case Study from the Document Type box.

 

Business Source Complete provides access to full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals and you can also search for case studies published within the articles.

  • Go to Business Source Complete Advanced Search screen
  • Type in your search terms (company name, product etc)
  • Scroll down to the Publication Type and choose Case Studies

 

WARC features advertising case studies and best practices from more than 50 respected industry sources, including: The Advertising Research Foundation, Cannes Lions, Effie Worldwide, Association of National Advertisers, ESOMAR, 4A's, IPA and DMA.

The Case Centre

The Case Centre is an independent, not-for-profit organisation dedicated to promoting the case method in business education and sharing our world-leading knowledge and expertise in case teaching, writing and learning.  There is a student section where you can register with the case centre and order a case

Case studies from the Case Centre are used by the Aston Business School to provide teaching materials for modules.  You may find a case study as part of your reading list materials attached to your module or you may be given a case study to work on as part of a tutorial session.

We have listed the providers so that you can search them yourselves.  If you wanted a case study to supplement your research please be warned that these cases are rarely if ever available for free and will cost around £6 to order. 

Harvard Business Business School Cases  

Students can now purchase cases from the HBR Case store.  Search or browse the contents of cases published by Harvard Business School Publishing. The full text of these cases are only available on a pay to view basis.

Case studies from the Case Centre are used by the Aston Business School to provide teaching materials for modules.  You may find a case study as part of your reading list materials attached to your module or you may be given a case study to work on as part of a tutorial session.

We have listed the providers so that you can search them yourselves.  If you wanted a case study to supplement your research please be warned that these cases are rarely if ever available for free and will cost around £6 to order. 

Loading

Free Case Studies


Caseplace.org  
A library of teaching resources designed for business school faculty within the
The site is intended primarily to help faculty incorporate environmental, social and ethical topics into their teaching on business and management.  Registration is required.

Journal of Business Case Studies  
You can access a range of case studies directly from the journal website. This journal is also listed on the Journal A-Z list and found in Library SmartSearch

New York Times Case Studies
The New York Times site offers readers the opportunity to think along with a small-business owner who has confronted an interesting challenge. In each article, you can watch the owner assess his or her options and then make a decision -- and then you can click on the related blog post to see how other owners analyse the situation. You can also join the discussion and leave your own comments.

Times 100
This is a business resource centre that is useful for students and teachers studying aspects of business. 

World Business Council for Sustainable Development
Case Studies illustrate how companies work independently, or with different stakeholders, to integrate the challenge of sustainable development into their business activities. (Select Case Studies in Content Type.)

Yale School of Management
 

Yale School of Management

Yale's case directory