Skip to main content

Biomedical Engineering: Databases

What are databases?

Databases are specialist search engines providing access to a vast range of e-books, journal articles, newspaper & magazine articles, reports, case studies, statistics, conference proceedings, and dissertations & theses. 

Choose a category from the Databases tab to view the full range of databases available to you.

Business & Management - key databases

Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics..  In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database.  

Proquest is a company that provides access to a number of business databases thorugh one interface.  You have access to ABI INFORM Complete, Proquest Entrepreneurship, Proquest Asian Business & Reference, Accounting and Banking and International Bibilography of the Social Sciences.  You can access a full journal title list via the database

 

Loading

A-Z list of databases

If you are looking for a particular database or resource, access a full A-Z list of all subscribed resources below.

Why use a database instead of search engine?

  • Databases are designed to index and store structured information, so they usually perform better than normal search engines which are really designed to index web pages not published works.
  • The content of databases is quality controlled - content is provided by reputable publishers, most journal articles are peer-reviewed and the data has been assessed by experts.
  • Some databases are also specialist tools for analysing statistical data, particularly in relation to the areas of business and finance.
  • To start an in-depth search simply click on one of the links right, and follow any log-in requests using your Aston University username and password.
  • Depending on the database, a full-text article, report, etc can be obtained by clicking on the PDF/HTML link or details of provision can be found by clicking on the 'Find it @ Aston' Find it @ Aston button.