Skip to main content

Researcher Profiles: PURE & Aston Research Explorer

Using PURE and Aston Research Explorer

If you are a new user of PURE at Aston University you will need to update your profile information. This is important as the information contained in your PURE account will appear on Aston Research Explorer and is a representation of you, your research career and your research interests. If you are an established researcher at Aston, but you would like to update your details, then they can be accessed and amended in the same way.

  • Firstly, you will need to log into PURE. This can be done by following this link: http://pure.aston.ac.uk  
     
  • You will need to use your normal network credentials (username and password) to access the system.
     
  • Furthermore, if you are trying to do this outside of the university’s local area network (at home, by wifi or some other location) then you will need to connect to the university network through a virtual private network (VPN) connection. Our IT department will be able to set you up with a VPN connection.

Further Information

For further information on using PURE to setup a Researcher Profile, contact the Research & Knowledge Exchange 

For information on adding publications to your profile see the Open Access LibGuide.

How to Update your Profile

In PURE click on ‘Personal Overview’ (at the top of the submenu on the left hand side of the screen).

  • Your profile information should now appear on screen (this will be basic when you first start).
     
  • Click on the grey ‘Edit profile…’ button to open a new screen and see your personal details.
     
  • Scroll down to the sub heading entitled ‘Curriculum and research description’  and click the grey button ‘Add profile information…’.
     
  • A new box will allow you to add information about yourself and you can select different topic areas to categorise your information (you may want to copy and paste from another source to save yourself time).
     
  • Press the ‘Create’ button to add this content to your profile. If you have information already populating these sections then you should be able to amend the information.

  • Make sure you press the blue ‘Save’ button at the bottom of the screen (otherwise you will lose all your changes).